Intrepid, by Sir Tiefling

intrepid1Intrepid, by Sir Tiefling

“Whoever is first in the field and awaits the coming of the enemy will be fresh for the fight; whoever is second in the field and has to hasten to battle will arrive exhausted.”
—Sun Tzu

Hi folks! I realize it’s been a few weeks since last I updated, and over two months since I offered a regular writeup. For which I apologize. I’ve been focused on a lot of other things all at the same time and was just never really able to get my act together to work on the blog—despite how important this blog is to me. To maybe make up for it and to celebrate the winter season, I’ve lined up several winter heroines for discussion over the next few weeks. My first is the intrepid Emrah, by Sir Tiefling.

So I’m pretty sure I thought Emrah was an Eowyn fan art the first time I saw her. She’s a stellar shield-maiden design. And to be honest, she kind of looks like Miranda Otto. Though, having read Elizabeth Moon’s The Deed of Paksenarrion recently, I notice our heroine also matches Paks’s description fairly well. Or she could be a Celtic adventuress. Or a Viking adventuress. She could be a soldier, scout, warrior, bandit, guardswoman, militia, infantrywoman, paladin, mercenary or raider. She’s an all around effective design for just about any kind of fighting adventuress.

intrepid1

A sturdy leather or woolen hooded cloak keeps our heroine warm and sheds the snow during travel or combat. Emrah’s chain-mail shirt offers flexible protection from brigand clubs and goblin knives in the thick of a melee. I like as well the heavy wool shirt beneath her mail, for both warmth and armor-maintenance. She also wears a long battle skirt of pliable leather to protect her legs from frostbite or sword-bite. If I have one recommendation for the overall ensemble, I’d suggest making the cloak and perhaps the skirt fur-lined for additional cold protection.

Our heroine’s gloves are durable leather for warmth and protection without hindering her swordsmanship. Her pants are simple woolen tights, loose for effective movement in combat. Lastly, her boots are durable leather for traversing rugged, snowy terrain. Her primary weapon is a standard longsword with a dagger for backup. While it’s possible our heroine might dual-wield with the dagger in her off-hand, her armor and ensemble don’t really lend themselves to the high-dexterity movement and quick footwork that dual-wielding tends to require.

While, to me, the outfit suggests either a solo combatant or member of an adventuring party, it could work just as easily for a soldier in any kind of mercenary or infantry company. It’s a smart, all-purpose outfit for an adventuress on the go.

Another huge thanks to Sir Tiefling for the use of his art for the blog. Thanks, as always, for reading, folks! Take care and stay awesome!

This entry was posted in Medieval Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

