Halloween Fan Art

krew_finalThe Legend of Korra Halloween fan art, by me
Right to Left: Asami as a ranger or rogue, Korra as a fighter/barbarian, Bolin as cleric or paladin, Mako as sorcerer/pyromancer

“And dying in your bed, many years from now, would you be willing to trade all of the days from this day to that for one chance–just ONE chance!–to come back here as young benders and tell these Equalists that they may take our lives, but they’ll never take OUR BENDING!” —Highlander Korra

Hello and a nerdy Happy Halloween to everyone! I was wanting to draw a Legend of Korra Halloween fan art, but had a lot of ideas and couldn’t decide. So a couple weeks ago I put a poll up on Facebook and Tumblr to narrow it down a bit. I ended up with a tie between D&D adventurers and Medieval Scottish highlanders. Rather than do a runoff to decide between them, I decided to combine the two. I hope everyone likes the results.

I picked ranger or rogue for Asami mainly for her high-dexterity fighting style. I figure Korra is either a barbarian who took a few levels of fighter to gain weapons specialization with claymores, or a fighter who took a few levels of barbarian to learn berserker rage. Bolin is just an all-around decent bloke, and either paladin or a lawful good cleric made sense for him. For Mako I was originally thinking either dual-wielder or perhaps a glaive or quarterstaff fighter, but eventually I realized I didn’t have a spell-caster for the party and made him a pyromancer to balance things out.

I’ll admit there’s a lot of things I’m not super happy about with this, but my experiment with the kilts turned out better than I expected, so I’m calling it a win. Take care and have a Happy Halloween, folks!

Characters property of Nickelodeon and show creators Brian Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino.

This entry was posted in Blog news, Movies/Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

