One Lovely Blog Award

one-lovely-blog

Okay, wow, so this is incredibly cool. Sartorially Smart Heroines has been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award. Massive thanks to Dreams of the Shining Horizon for the nomination!

I’ve never been nominated before, so I don’t really know what I’m getting into here. Thankfully there are only four rules. (And the first one isn’t “Don’t talk about the One Lovely Blog Award,” so I can brag all I want.)

The rules are as follows:

  1. You must thank the person who nominated you and leave a link to their blog.
  2. You must list the rules and display the award.
  3. You must add 7 facts about yourself.
  4. You must nominate 15 other bloggers at the most, 3 at the least if you don’t have enough time for 15, and comment on one of their posts to let them know they have been nominated.

Facts:

  1. I’m an Idaho farm kid with a Masters Degree in American Literature. It’s created what might almost be considered a dual-identity situation. Various people I grew up with are baffled that I’ve taught college composition and am writing a blog and a novel. Meanwhile, I’ve had two students try to call b******t over the fact that I’ve been diving tractors for as long as my legs could reach the pedals. This entertains me to no end.
  2. I still have my first car. It doesn’t run, sadly, but I still have it. It’s a white 1986 Ford Mustang LX with a 4-cylender engine and a hatchback. I bought it third- or fourth-hand from a local dealership summer of 2000, just a few weeks after I finished high school. It was a good little car, and I drove it until the engine went out about eight years ago. I’ve held onto it in hopes that someday I’ll have the time and money to sink a new engine in it and fix it up real good, but that hasn’t happened so far, and I worry that the longer it sits the harder it will be to repair… 😥
  3. The “literally” versus “figuratively” argument is a really stupid one to me. I’ve seen the statement “Don’t say literally when you mean figuratively” worn proudly on frigging t-shirts. What these pedants don’t get is that when someone says “I literally jumped ten feet in the air,” they’re not using “literally” incorrectly. They’re using “literally” figuratively.
  4. Currently I’m working on a novel and hope to have a complete draft finished by the end of the year. Titled First Empress, it’s a fantasy based on my studies of Ancient Greek and Roman history, with an Ancient Mediterranean setting, Iron Age technology, and Greco/Roman culture. The title heroine is a hyper-insightful young queen who begins as ruler of a tiny, island city-state but unites her people and builds up the largest empire in her part of the world.
  5. Building off of #3, I find myself violently opposed to the shaming techniques too often employed by self-proclaimed grammarians hoping to “save” the English language. I tutored student writers for eight semesters and taught first-year and basic composition for six, and every student I ever worked with who struggled with English grammar and usage struggled for the simple fact that grammar intimidates them. Not because they were lazy or didn’t care. It was simply because someone at some point treated them as a less-intelligent or otherwise inferior human being because they failed to get their “yours” or “theirs” right. Rather than create interest in language, such shaming creates fear, disinterest, and even resentment. I could rant for pages, but Stephen Fry puts it better than I possibly could.
  6. I took a couple classes in American Sign Language a few years ago and found it to be a highly expressive language that functions far more logically than English. Admittedly, I took it because I had a crush at the time on a classmate who is Deaf, and it seemed like a logical way to get to know her better. I’ve thought about taking more classes, but my friend moved away and it’s hard to find incentive to learn a language when you’ve no one to talk to in it.
  7. I’m always leery of advice from style manuals written by famous writers. This is mainly because I find most of these writers only know how to offer advice on how to write like themselves. This, in turn, causes other writers to blindly follow this advice and repeat it Biblically, rather than learn when and when not to apply it in their own writing. Strunk and White advise avoiding passive voice, so rather than try to understand passive voice and learn where it should and shouldn’t work in their writing, many writers simply avoid passive voice altogether. Stephen King argues that adverbs aren’t your friend, causing otherwise competent writers to eliminate adverbs in all of their writing, rather than try to learn effective and less effective places to incorporate them. While neither of these examples are necessarily bad advice, I feel like more writers should take the time to analyze where and how to apply such advice to their own style and rhetorical needs.

Nominations:
I’ll admit that I’m more active on the Tumblr side of Sartorially Smart Heroines than the WordPress side. While the blogs I’ve nominated are indeed lovely, this is as much to thank the lovely people behind them for their support.

  1. Tikatu
  2. Herdthinner
  3. War of Memory
This entry was posted in Blog news and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Thanks for the mention! 😀 And I agree with you on #7 wholeheartedly.

  2. herdthinner says:

    Many thanks for the nomination! I’ve been having much difficulty of late finding the time to write on WP, versus other places (archivesofourown.org, for instance), but will do what I can to meet the terms of the nomination.

    I, too, shudder at grammar shaming. My style is what it is, right or wrong. I abuse dashes, ellipses, parentheses, and adverbs, but dagnabbit, I’m pretty sure that people can understand what I’ve written! But I suppose #3 is where we part ways. I genuinely enjoy moments when I can use “literally” as just that. Example, in the city of Boston, I saw the blind literally leading the blind. A blind man had his hand on the shoulder of another blind man, who was leading them through a crowd. Also in Boston, which must be a city for metaphors come to life, I saw a man who was hopping mad. He was, indeed, angrily hopping his way along the sidewalk. Interesting stuff there.

    I will leave you with this meager bit of grammatical humor: “Hyperbole is just the worst thing ever!”

    • And that’s an excellent use of “literally,” to be sure. I’m just saying that I don’t feel like using “literally” figuratively is a misuse of the term.

      (And thanks for the grammatical humor! I have a couple of former professors who’d get a kick out of that.)

  3. seraph4377 says:

    Currently I’m working on a novel and hope to have a complete draft finished by the end of the year. Titled First Empress, it’s a fantasy based on my studies of Ancient Greek and Roman history, with an Ancient Mediterranean setting, Iron Age technology, and Greco/Roman culture.

    I like this idea a lot. So much of fantasy is based on the same few hundred years in northwestern Europe that any variation of setting is a welcome breath of fresh air.

Leave a Reply

