Dwarf Shaman, by Ben Wootten

shamanDwarf Shaman, by Ben Wootten

I am hoping to correct an embarrassing and negligent oversight on my part. I’ve been writing Sartorially Smart Heroines since July of 2013, and yet, somehow, have failed to include a single dwarf in my discussions. This is embarrassing for me because I honestly really like dwarves and in general find them far more agreeable company than the majority of elves and even a few halflings I’ve known. Yet somehow I’ve failed my stout friends in this venture by not offering them a single writeup on my heroines blog. And for that I apologize to the race of dwarves and promise to do better in the future. To make up for the oversight, my plan was to feature dwarf heroines each weekend during March. Unfortunately, my scheduling keeps getting mucked up (hence the late post), and I’ve been having trouble contacting several of the artists whose dwarves I was interested in. Regardless, I’m going to get this started and see how it goes. If I end up having to post non-dwarves for part of the month, so be it.

The first dwarf in my lineup is this intrepid shaman by Ben Wootten for Wizards of the Coast. As I tend to roll fighting classes, I unfortunately don’t have much experience with spell-casters like shamans or druids, so I apologize for any speculation on my part. My general experience with lady shamans in art is similar to lady clerics: fairly hit-and-miss as far as effective armor or adventuring attire. Thankfully, our sturdy shammy wears a rugged ensemble for any type of adventure.

shaman2I know enough to know that the D&D shaman is one of the casting classes that can equip light armor. Our heroine here wears a leather mantle and apron (probably not the technical term) over her caster robes. Though somewhat ornate, the armor should protect her shoulders and vitals from arrows and light melee. Our shammy’s primary garment is her caster’s robe, thick and durable for adventuring and not so long that it will drag the ground and trip her up. I like, too, the forested coloration between the brown leather and green robe—while not designed as camouflage, the colors should blend with the woodlands if need be. Over the armor she wears a brown traveling cloak to protect our heroine and her gear against the wind and weather. Lastly, her leather mocs provide light, durable footwear for a wilderness trek or dungeon crawl.

With her, our charming shammy carries her weapons and trinkets of the shaman trade. Her primary weapon is her carved totem, using it here to summon a parliament of spectral owls—perhaps to scout, perhaps to swarm a hobgoblin patrol. Her sidearm is a dwarven dagger, used for dispatching errant kobolds or Drow rogues. She wears various talismans and totems in her hair or on her person, some ceremonial and some with magical properties. As shamanry tends to be a trinket-intensive casting class, it’s likely her satchel contains various other tokens, totems, talismans, and tools.

One thing I always try to remember with casting classes is that anything they wear or carry might have additional magical properties. That totem is clearly a focus for her powers, but may also carry charges for summoning or protection spells. Her necklace may be simple talismans, or it may increase her strength or wisdom. The armor may be simply masterwork, or it may protect against fire or lightning. Her dagger may be unenhanced terrestrial steel, or it may offer attack bonuses against giant humanoids. (Honestly, guessing the purpose behind costume and character details is much more fun than knowing what they are.)

Huge thanks to Ben for letting me borrow his shaman for the blog. Feel free to check out his online galleries as well. Image courtesy Wizards of the Coast. Thanks so much for reading, folks! As always, take care and stay awesome!

This entry was posted in Gaming, Medieval Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dwarf Shaman, by Ben Wootten

  1. tiquatue says:

    Thanks for showcasing a dwarf woman! I have one in my ongoing novel story and this gives me ideas on how to dress and armor her.

Leave a Reply

