Plans for December and beyond

fft_knightHi folks! So NaNoWriMo didn’t work out as well as I’d expected. I got a lot done on my novel, yes, but I ended up with too much else going on to meet the 50,000 word challenge. Which figures—same thing happened last year. But now that that is all done with, I’m easing myself back into blog-mode and taking stock of what I’ve done so far and what I’d like to do in the future.

Reading back over some of my earlier posts, I decided to go back through and tidy some of those up a bit. The discussion will be the same, but I want to make the posts feel more professional by adding additional shots of details from particular outfits, cleaning up some of the weird link usages, and editing mistakes I didn’t catch the first time. (As a quick example, I discovered only recently that I added an extra zero to the number of Roman soldiers in my discussion on Queen Teuta. It should have been 20,000, not 200,000. Oops.)

Another important lesson I learned from emailing Brian Kessinger and Nate Hallinan is that it really pays to contact the artists of these works and ask their permission to use their artwork. On top of being the courteous thing to do, I also found that it generates an enormous amount of recognition for the blog when the artists like what you have to say about their work and share links to my posts. This in turn generates additional recognition for the artists themselves. When using other people’s art from here on out, I plan to make the effort to contact the original artist and ask permission to use the images. (I’ve already sent emails to a cosplay model and a couple DeviantArtists, looking into future posts. Just this evening I heard back from a webcomic artist, giving permission to use a couple of her characters in a future post. Kind of stoked.) On the same note, I’m also giving consideration to contacting some of the artists whose work I’ve already used and asking permission to continue to incorporate their images.

At any rate, as always I’m willing to hear any feedback, questions, or comments on various posts or the blog as a whole. Take care, folks, and thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Blog news and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

